Explainer: Priyanka Gandhi will make a dent in Jyotiraditya Scindia’s stronghold! Know here the equation of Gwalior


MP Election 2023: Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra is going to be seen thundering in Gwalior, the home constituency of Union Minister and former party leader Jyotiraditya Scindia. She will address a public meeting on Friday. This is going to be the second visit of Priyanka Gandhi to Madhya Pradesh in the last 40 days, due to which the politics of the state has heated up. Veteran Congress leader Digvijay Singh himself is busy preparing for this rally. Let us tell you that the assembly elections are going to be held in the state at the end of this year, for which along with the Congress, the BJP has also geared up.

KK Mishra, president of the media department of Madhya Pradesh unit of Congress, has given information about Priyanka Gandhi’s rally. He said that Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra will reach Gwalior at 11 am and then go to the memorial of Rani Laxmibai, where she will pay homage to the great freedom fighter. At around 11:30, Priyanka will address a public meeting at the fair ground, preparations for which have almost been completed. It is worth mentioning that earlier on June 12, Priyanka had started her party’s election campaign in the state by addressing a rally in Jabalpur. The Congress leader had said in Jabalpur that if the Congress comes to power in the state, it will implement five schemes, including financial assistance of Rs 1,500 per month to women, 100 units of free electricity and restoration of the old pension scheme for employees.

Scindia is on Priyanka Gandhi’s target

At the Jabalpur rally, Priyanka Gandhi accused the government led by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan of being mired in corruption and failing to provide jobs. Not only this, he also took a dig at Scindia who left the Congress and joined the BJP. It may be noted that Scindia’s loyal MLAs in Madhya Pradesh had left the Congress and later joined the BJP in March 2020. Because of this, the government led by Kamal Nath fell in 15 months and the way was paved for the return of Shivraj Chouhan to power.

Gwalior division at a glance

If we talk about Gwalior division of Madhya Pradesh, then this region is formed by combining five districts of the northern part of this state. Gwalior, Datia, Shivpuri, Ashoknagar and Guna are the districts of this region. There are 21 assembly seats in these five districts, in which there is a direct fight between the BJP and the Congress. One seat in each district is reserved for the Scheduled Caste (SC) category. According to the politics of Madhya Pradesh, it is considered to be the stronghold of strong leaders. Politicians like former Prime Minister of the country Atal Bihari Vajpayee and former Union Minister Madhav Rao Scindia have had a deep connection with this division who reached the top of the country’s power. At the same time, leaders like Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, former Chief Minister Digvijay Singh, Dr. Narottam Mishra, a minister in the present Shivraj government, also come from this land, whose names are counted among the top leaders of the country.

The public supported the Congress

Talking about the year 2018, after the assembly elections held this year, Gwalior had a big contribution in forming the Congress government in Madhya Pradesh. At the same time, in the year 2020, Jyotiraditya Scindia and this Gwalior-Chambal division played an important role in changing the course of power in the state. The Congress came to power in Madhya Pradesh in the 2018 assembly elections. Veteran leader of the party Kamal Nath took oath as Chief Minister. In this election, the voters of Gwalior division had expressed full faith in the Congress. In the year 2018, Congress flag was raised on 16 out of 21 seats of Gwalior division. At the same time, BJP had won only 5 seats in this region.

Scindia rebelled against the Congress

If you remember, the MLAs who were angry with the Congress government had resigned en masse under the leadership of Jyotiraditya Scindia, after which the Kamal Nath government of the state fell. These included 9 MLAs from Gwalior division. These MLAs left the Congress and joined the BJP. When the MLAs resigned, the 28 seats on which by-elections were held in November 2020. In this, 3 seats of Gwalior district Gwalior, Gwalior East and Dabra were included. Along with this, by-elections were held in Bhander in Datia district, 2 Karaira and Pohri in Shivpuri district, Bamori in Guna district and 2 Ashoknagar and Mungavali seats in Ashoknagar district.

BJP won in the by-election

While the Congress won 16 seats in the Gwalior division in the 2018 elections, in the 2020 by-elections, the BJP created a stir in state politics by winning 6 more seats. Thus Congress got 10 seats and BJP got 11 seats. Congress was successful in retaining its hold in three seats Dabra, Gwalior East and Karaira. Former Minister Dabra MLA Imarti Devi, Gwalior East MLA Munnalal Goyal and Karaira MLA Jasmant Jatav had to face defeat after resigning from Congress and joining BJP. On the other hand, Congress candidate Phool Singh Baraiya was seen losing by only 161 votes in Bhander seat reserved for Scheduled Castes.

Madhya Pradesh: Before the assembly elections, BJP made a dent in Kamal Nath’s home constituency Chhindwara!

With what issues will the Congress contest this time?

It is being told that the Congress will vigorously raise other issues including corruption, inflation and rising debt on the state in the assembly elections to be held in Madhya Pradesh later this year. Congress can also make the issue of direct urination. Meanwhile, let us tell you that former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh Digvijay Singh is keeping a close watch on 66 such assembly seats which have been in the possession of BJP for a long time. In the last few months, he visited 67 assembly seats in 35 districts and encouraged the Congress workers here.

What is the strategy of Congress

According to the news that is coming out, this time the Congress has prepared a strategy. According to the strategy, one where the Congress has been winning continuously, it will fight with full force there. On the other hand, the party is brainstorming on which strategy should be used to strengthen the party in the seats where the Congress is weak. It is being told that Congress state president Kamal Nath has appointed Digvijay Singh for this work. This time the Congress has given full strength to register victory in the state.

Let us tell you that there are 10 divisions and 52 districts in Madhya Pradesh. The list of districts coming under 10 divisions of the state is as follows….

  1. Bhopal Division- Bhopal, Raisen, Rajgarh, Sehore, Vidisha

  2. Gwalior Division- Ashoknagar, Shivpuri, Datia, Guna, Gwalior

  3. Narmadapuram Division- Harda, Hoshangabad, Betul

  4. Chambal Division- Morena, Sheopur, Bhind

  5. Indore Division- Barwani, Burhanpur, Dhar, Indore, Jhabua, Khandwa, Khargone, Alirajpur

  6. Jabalpur Division- Balaghat, Chhindwara, Jabalpur, Katni, Mandla, Narsinghpur, Seoni

  7. Rewa Division- Rewa, Satna, Sidhi, Singrauli

  8. Sagar Division- Chhatarpur, Damoh, Panna, Sagar, Tikamgarh

  9. Shahdol Division- Shahdol, Umaria, Dindori, Anuppur

10. Ujjain Division- Dewas, Mandsaur, Neemuch, Ratlam, Shajapur, Ujjain

PM Modi MP: Political importance of PM Modi’s visit to Shahdol, know whom he is trying to help

It should be noted that the state of Madhya Pradesh was formed in 1956. The British princely states of Gwalior, Indore and Bhopal are part of modern Madhya Pradesh. Chhattisgarh was formed in 2000 after being separated from Madhya Pradesh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here