23 persons declared as terrorists under UAPA during the year 2022, 2023: Government


The government has informed that 23 persons have been declared as terrorists so far during the year 2022 and 2023 under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA) 1967 and their names have been added to the Fourth Schedule of the Act.

This information was given by Minister of State for Home Nityanand Rai in a written reply to Bhagirath Chowdhary’s question in the Lok Sabha on Tuesday. He was asked whether the government has declared any person as a terrorist under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967 during the last one year.

Lashkar-e-Taiba terrorists Hafiz Talha Saeed, Sheikh Sajjad, Mohd Amin Khubai aka Lashkar-e-Taiba among the 23 persons who have been declared as terrorists so far during the year 2022 and 2023, according to the list presented by the Minister of State for Home in the Lower House. Apart from Mohammad Amin Butt, Arbaaz Ahmad Mir, Ali Kashifjan of Jaish-e-Mohammed, Ashiq Ahmad Nengroo, Imtiaz Ahmad Kandu of Hizb-ul-Mujahideen, Shaukat Ahmad Sheikh, Basit Ahmad Reshi, Bashir Ahmad Peer, Irshad Ahmad and Dr. Asif Maqbool Dar. .

The list of terrorists includes Mushtaq Ahmed Zargar of Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front, Arjumand Gulzar Dar of Al Badr, Habibullah Malik of The Resistance Front (TRF), Rafiq Nai of Tehreek-ul-Mujahideen, Zafar Iqbal of Harkat-ul-Jihad-e-Islami, Jammu and Kashmir. Islamic Front’s Bilal Ahmed Baig, Tehreek-ul-Mujahideen’s Sheikh Jameel-ul-Rehman, Al-Qaeda’s Ejaz Ahmed Ahangar, besides Arshdeep Singh Gill of Khalistan Tiger Force and Harvinder Singh Sandhu of Babbar Khalsa International.

Minister of State for Home Nityanand Rai informed that as per the Seventh Schedule of the Constitution of India, Police and Public Order is a State subject and prevention, detection, investigation and prosecution of various criminal matters including cyber crime is primarily the responsibility of the State. /UTs are responsible.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here