UP Mayor Election Result 2023: Archana Verma who left SP and joined BJP became the first citizen of Shahjahanpur


Lucknow. Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidate Archana Singh alias Archana Verma has won the Mayor’s election held for the first time in Municipal Corporation by getting 80762 votes. By becoming the first Mayor of Shahjahanpur Municipal Corporation of Uttar Pradesh, she has registered her name in the history book. He has defeated Congress candidate Nikhat Iqbal by 30 thousand 256 votes. BJP candidate has got total 49.5 percent votes. Archana Verma has got 24.66 percent votes of the total number of voters of the Municipal Corporation. There were total 327487 voters in Shahjahanpur. Out of these 163157 had exercised their right to vote.

All bail forfeited except Congress

There were a total of eight candidates in the mayoral election. Congress stood second here. Nikhat Iqbal secured 50484 votes. This is 30.94 percent of the total votes. SP’s Mala Rathore got 20155 votes and BSP’s Shagufta Anjum got 5545 votes. BSP has not even secured two per cent votes. Suman Verma of Aam Aadmi Party had to satisfy with 2698 votes. Rashtriya Samaj Paksha’s Meera Devi got 854 votes, independent Zoha Iqbal got 817 and Sunita Yadav got 505 votes.

Joined BJP from SP wearing a day from nomination

The Bharatiya Janata Party has changed the equations in the local body elections by including Samajwadi Party’s mayor candidate from Shahjahanpur, Archana Verma, in its camp. Archana Verma took the membership of the party at BJP’s state headquarters Lucknow on the last day of nomination. Archana Verma, former district panchayat president, comes from a political family. She is the daughter-in-law of former minister and SP leader Ramamurthy Verma, a two-time MP and four-time MLA from Shahjahanpur.

division of valid votes among candidates

Winner (49.5%)

Nearest competitor (30.94%)

Bail forfeited (18.74%)

NOTA (0.82%)

Percentage of total valid votes received by the candidates relative to the voters

Winner (24.66%)

Nearest competitor (15.48%)

All other candidates (9.37%)

Absentee Voters (50.18%)

NOTA (0.82%)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here