UP Mayor Election Result 2023: BJP invincible in Agra, Hemlata Diwakar’s crown decorated, ‘elephant’ also shouted a lot


Agra. Bharatiya Janata Party candidate and former MLA Hemlata Diwakar has been elected to the post of Mayor of Agra Municipal Corporation, reserved for scheduled caste women, by getting 267925 votes. He has defeated Bahujan Samajwadi Party candidate Lata Valmiki by one lakh 8 thousand 468 votes who got 159457 votes. However, as soon as the counting of votes started, the first trend came in favor of BSP candidate Lata Valmiki. The counting of votes started with the postal ballot and in this the Bahujan Samajwadi Party left the Bharatiya Janata Party behind. At the end of the fourth round of counting, the BSP’s mayoral candidate secured 54,267 votes and was ahead by 21,309 votes.

BJP badly backward in the beginning, good in the end

The BSP had finished second in 2017. In the fourth round, the BJP candidate got 32,964 votes and reached the second position. The BSP candidate was leading by more than twenty thousand votes from the second round itself. Earlier, Ward 1 councilor candidate Meena Devi won by 1700 votes, while BJP’s mayoral candidate looked disappointed. However….the final result went in favor of Hemlata Diwakar. The BJP kept this seat in its possession for three decades as invincible.

division of valid votes among candidates

Winner (50.87%)

Closest competitor (30.28%)

Bail forfeited (18.1%)

NOTA (0.76%)

Which party’s candidate for mayor got how many votes

Hemlata Diwakar (Bharatiya Janata Party) 267925

Lata (Bahujan Samaj Party) – 159457

Juhi Prakash (Samajwadi Party) -47703

Lata Kumari (Indian National Congress) – 18246

Sunita (Aam Aadmi Party) – 7504

Savita (Azad Samaj Party (Kanshiram)) – 7238

Saroj (Independent) – 6346

Kamlesh (Independent) -3819

Ramadevi Pathare (Political Justice Party) – 2674

Sujatha (Jan Adhikar Party) -1783

Split of valid votes among candidates in 2017 for Mayor

Winner (42.77%)

Closest competitor (28.18%)

Bail forfeited (28.32%)

NOTA (0.72%

Percentage of total valid votes received by the candidates relative to the voters

Nearest competitor (10.89%)

All other candidates (6.51%)

Winner (18.25%)

Absentee Voters (64.12%)

NOTA (0.76%)

Percentage of total valid votes received by candidates for mayor in 2017 relative to voters

Winner (17.19%) Nearest Contestant (11.36%) All Other Candidates (11.42%) Absentee Voters (59.81%) NOTA (0.72%)

Hemlata’s victory saved the reputation of 5 ministers

In Tajnagari Agra, polling was held in the first phase on May 4. Former MLA Hemlata Diwakar was the BJP’s candidate from this seat for the post of mayor, but five ministers had prestige. MP from Agra and Union Minister of State Prof. SP Singh Baghel, Higher Education Minister Yogendra Upadhyay, Women and Child Development Minister Babyrani Maurya, Prisons Minister Dharamvir Prajapati. Apart from these, AK Sharma is the minister in charge of Agra district. In this way, the responsibility of feeding the lotus in the Agra Municipal Corporation elections was on him. This election result has been successful in saving the reputation of these ministers.

Political future of 1385 candidates decided

The fate of 1385 candidates has been decided in the Agra municipal elections. There are 10 candidates for mayor in Agra. There are 566 candidates for 100 posts of councilor. 48 candidates were in the fray for 5 posts of Municipal Council and 401 candidates for 125 posts of Municipal Council members. For 7 posts of Nagar Panchayat president, 54 candidates and 306 candidates for 85 posts of Nagar Panchayat member demonstrated their strength.

BJP won in 2017 by getting 42.77% of the valid votes

In 2017, Agra Municipal Corporation was unreserved. Out of 12.67 lakh voters, 5.09 lakh had cast their vote. 40.06 Voting took place. In a total of 509570 votes, BJP’s Naveen Jain became the mayor. The nearest rival was the BSP candidate. Naveen Jain got 42.77% of the total valid votes. Same Bahujan Samaj Party’s candidate Digambar Singh Dhakre got 28.18% votes. SP’s Rahul Chaturvedi got 9.77 percent, independent candidate former minister Chaudhary Bashir got 6.92 percent votes. Congress candidate Vinod Bansal got 4.43 percent votes.

(youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0KOuB-5e9s)

Who got how many votes in 2017

Total polled – -509570

SP – -49788

BJP – -217881

Congress – -22554

BSP – -143559

Others – -71941


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here