Voting underway to elect new President in Nepal


Voting began in Nepal on Thursday morning to elect a new president, the outcome of which could affect the stability of the government led by Prime Minister Pushpakamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’.

Ramchandra Poudel of the Nepali Congress and Subhash Chandra Nembang of the Communist Party of Nepal-Unified Marxist Leninist (CPN-UML) are in the race for the post.

Voting began at 10 am local time at the Parliament House in New Baneshwar here.

The tenure of the current President Vidya Devi Bhandari will end on March 12.

The Election Commission will start the counting of votes from 4 pm and declare the results by 7 pm.

Nepal’s Election Commission said on Wednesday that all preparations for the presidential election have been completed.

Poudel and Nembang, two former Speakers of the House of Representatives, are facing each other for the presidential election. Paudel is the candidate supported by the eight-party coalition led by Prime Minister Prachanda, while Nembang is affiliated with the CPN-UML.

Paudel (78) and Nembang (69) had filled the prescriptions last month.

Following the political controversy over his support to Paudel in the presidential election, former Prime Minister K.P. The CPN-UML led by Sharma had withdrawn its support to the current government. CPN-UML is the second largest party in Nepal.

With the support of eight political parties, Paudel’s victory in the presidential election is almost certain.

The total number of electors for the presidential election is 882, including 332 members of parliament and 550 members of the seven provincial assemblies.

The term of office of the President shall be five years from the date of election and a person can be elected to this office only for two terms.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here